Save the Date – Symposium on the
Addictions Public Health Crisis:
Equipping churches to respond well

Date: Friday, May 13, 2022
Time: 11 a.m. (Eastern) | 8 a.m. (Pacific) – 3 p.m. (Eastern) | 12 p.m. (Pacific)

We all want our communities to be free of the harms caused by substance use and addictions. Yet, thousands of people are harmed and die from substance use and overdoses each year. The stresses of COVID-19 have exacerbated this public health crisis. In Canada, opioid-related deaths increased 88% between April 2020 and March 2021 from the same period before the pandemic began—according to Statistics Canada.

  • What are barriers to addressing the crisis?
  • What steps can reduce risk and save lives?
  • How can communities and churches respond in a good way?

Speakers:

Dr. Pamela Leece
Public Health Physician
Public Health Ontario

The Rev. Glen Sampson & Norma Aucoin
Northern New Brunswick Regional Ministry

Natika Bock
Co-Chair
Kamloops Community Action Team

Join us on Friday, May 13, at 11 a.m. (Eastern)/8 a.m. (Pacific), for an opportunity to share, learn and connect online at the Symposium on the Addictions Public Health Crisis: Equipping churches to respond well.

Register Today
Promotional Presentation Slide – Symposium on the Addictions Public Health Crisis

Image of arrow pointing downPromotional Presentation Slide – Symposium on the Addictions Public Health Crisis
Want to connect with the event organizers? Contact Justice Ministries