Letters to the Government

//Letters to the Government
Letters to the Government 2016-12-23T17:11:23+00:00

Letters to the GovernmentBiotechnology and Genetics
Direct to Consumer Genetic Testing, 2013
Genetic Discrimination, 2013

Caring for Creation
Stephen Harper, 2008

The 134th General Assembly (2008) approved a recommendation that The Presbyterian Church in Canada become a signatory to an investor coalition called the CDP – Driving Sustainable Economies. The CDP is an investor coalition representing over $92 trillion in assets from 767 institutional investors. It is an independent, not-for-profit, organization and the largest investor coalition concerned about climate change in the world. Investors include private and public pension funds and faith communities in the USA, Canada, the UK, Australia and a number of other countries.

In Canada, the CDP sends a survey to the 200 largest publically traded corporations listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange. The survey requests information regarding the opportunities and risks the company faces due to climate change. There is no requirement to respond – it is voluntary.

The 138th General Assembly (2012) approved a recommendation that the Moderator write to companies in which the church owns shares and received the survey to commend or encourage participation.

As of December 31, 2013, the church owned shares in 59 corporations that received the surveys; 49 corporations completed the survey, 10 did not. This information may be of interest to church trustees, financial management committees and groups responsible for the management of endowment funds.

The church owns shares in these 49 corporations that responded to the 2013 survey: Agrium, ARC Resources, AuRico Gold, Bank of Montreal, Bank of Nova Scotia, Barrick Gold, BCE Inc., BlackBerry, Brookfield Asset Management, Brookfield Property Partnership, Brookfield Renewable Power Inc, Brookfield Residential Properties Inc, Cameco, Canadian National Railway Company, Canadian Natural Resources, Canadian Pacific Railway, Canadian Tire, Cenovus Energy Inc., CGI Group, CIBC, Crescent Point Energy, Emera Inc., Enbridge Inc., Finning International, Franco-Nevada Corporation, George Weston Ltd, Gildan Activewear, Goldcorp Inc., Great-West Life Co., Husky Energy, Imperial Oil, Inmet Mining, Loblaws Companies, Manitoba Telecom, Manulife Financial Corp., National Bank of Canada, Power Corporation of Canada, Rogers Communications, Royal Bank of Canada, SNC-Lavalin Group Inc, Sun Life Financial, Suncor Energy Inc., Talisman Energy, TD Bank, Teck Resources, Telus, Thomson Reuters Corporation, Tim Hortons Inc., TransCanada Corporation.
Click here to read a template of the letter sent to these corporations.

The church owns shares in these 10 corporations that did not respond to the 2013 survey: Alimentation Couche-Tard, Ensign Energy Services, Fortis Inc., Gibson Energy, Inter Pipeline Fund, Nexen, Pembina Pipeline Corporation, RioCan Real Estate Investment Trust, Sherritt International, Westjet Airlines Ltd.
Click here to read a template of the letter sent to these corporations.


Affordable Housing
Cathy Rogers, January 2015
Clyde Jackman, January 2015
Donna Harpooner, January 2015
Jeff Johnson, January 2015
Jeff Johnson Response, February 2015
Joanne Bernard, January 2015
Kerri Irvin-Ross, January 2015
Kerri Irvin-Ross Response, February 2015
Rich Coleman, January 2015
Ted McMeekin, January 2015
Ted McMeekin Response, March 2015
Valerie Docherty, January 2015
Jason Kenney, January 2015
Bernard Valcourt, Housing in First Nations Communities, January 2015
Bernard Valcourt Response, February 2015

Correctional System
Robert Nicholson, 2012

Economic Policy
James Flaherty, 2012
James Flaherty Response, 2012
Michael Chan Response, Public Safety, 2009

Health Care
Leona Aglukkaq, 2010
David Emerson, 2005
Michael Decter, 2005
Ujjal Dosanjh, 2005

Jason Kenney, 2009
Jason Kenney Response, 2009
Michael Chan, 2009
Michael Chan Response, 2009

Stephen Harper Ecumenical Letter

Poverty Reduction
A Federal Role in Poverty Reduction, 2009
Brad Wall – Saskatchewan 2008
Dalton McGuinty 2008
Danny Williams, 2008
Dennis Fentie – Yukon 2008
Ed Stelmach – Alberta 2008
Gary Doer – Manitoba 2008
Gordon Campbell – British Columbia 2008
Joe Handley – Northwest Territories 2008
Paul Okalik – Nunavut 2008
Robert Ghiz 2008
Rodney McDonald – Nova Scotia 2008

Refugee Protection
Jason Kenney, Refugee Protection Bill C-49, 2010
Jason Kenney Response, 2010
Towes Response, 2010
Stephen Harper, Refugee Protection Bill C-49. 2009
Monte Solberg, Refugee Protection, 2006